What Nelson Mandela Means to Me

“Our children are the rock on which our future will be built, our greatest asset as a nation. They will be the leaders of our
country, the creators of our national wealth, those who care for and protect our people.” – Nelson Mandela

As I was making my way to bed last night, messages began flooding in about the death of Madiba. I was dumbstruck, even though his death was inevitable and expected. My son sat with me, and asked questions. I thank his teacher for educating him about Mandela and the struggle for a free South Africa. People tweeted, put up status’ on Facebook, sent out Broadcasts and sms’ and gathered on the streets with sombre moods, soon turned to glorious cheers of song and laughter celebrating a great, full life! 

I sat on my couch, dumbstruck, hardly hearing the words of Zuma as he addressed the nation. My eyes were glued to the TV and in my right hand I held my phone, in my left my android, seeking solace in tweets and messages from other mourners. There was a large lump in my throat as I watched the crowds outside his house stretch further and wider, and I began to think about what I am mourning…

What does Madiba mean to me?

He means freedom and hope

He means love, in the largest form

He means selfless

He means icon, hero, legend

He means equality

He means black and white

He means rainbow nation

He means protection, I am safe to practice my religion, I am a free Muslim

He means laughter, beautiful moments, brilliant ideologies

He means solidarity and togetherness

He means humble, pure intentions

He means EVERYTHING – from Prisoner to President!

“I am the Captain of my Soul” – Nelson Mandela… You have set sail….

Hamba Kahle Tata Madiba… Now is your time to rest…

Share your thoughts and what Madiba means to you…

Leave a Reply

