From the mouths of SURVIVORS!

Alhamdulillah! Never in a million years had I imagined that my words would reach so many corners of the world, so many people, and even those out there who have been slapped in the face by abuse! Since this blog began many victims have had something to share, their experiences, their words of encouragement…. I want to share it with you, in the hope of giving someone out there some “light at the end of the tunnel” kinda hope! And I encourage you all to continue lending your kind words to the victims, and for more victims to stand up and speak, for yourself, for you are worth so much more!

Your Words:

*This has really left me shaken. It is truly sad that these kind of things happen in reality and nothing or noone is there to help. We should be so grateful for our lives, with our silly little problems that we think are so huge.

*This is so gruesome, have to make shukr for all Allah has blessed us with… Feel like I can’t read more yoh*

*i waited the entire day to read this blog with anticipation and now i am shaking with the horror of how wicked a mother this poor child had…i want to reach out and hug her tight and take her pain away….Ya allah have mercy on parents that do this to their kids :(

*Shame that poor child.. Our lives and upbringing are soo sheltered its hard to comprehend someone going through all this or rAther someone being so evil and capable of being so heartless, shame man

*Its sad to know that physical abuse does happen in our Muslim Homes, but what makes this so Sickening is the fact that the mother wanted Mumtaz to live with her, so why is she allowing Riaz to abuse her. But then again she can’t even fight for herself & what was right to have left him long ago cos its a sin being married to someone that’s not a Muslim. Ya اللَّه I can’t even imagine what is to happen next. . . Gripping blog. . Keep up the good work. .

*Can a mother be so heartless,you dnt feel for you own child,this blog is sooo heart sore,I agree,we always complainn bout small thing in life and dnt think that there are people or kids going through worse things,loving the blog,keep up the good work,its like my daily dose of tears

*Thank You for making a Difference in the World! Your Blog may just have stirred just one person in an abusive relationship to finally Stand Up! She may just have realized: ‘its OK to stand up!! I’ll survive! If I have God then nothing else matters!! ‘ Thank You! Thank You! Thank You! For this great blog!!

*Its a fucking reality that we choose not to see cos our ‘belief’ system has kept us so sheltered for so long. Everyone has a story and a journey to learn lessons that ultimately define the Whole person you were intended to be and I’m sure that Mumtaz’s journey was meant to be This way to make her rise above her limitations and BE a Winner!! What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger! Her lessons I would imagine is to shift to Forgiveness and not be a victim of her circumstance.. She Survived thus far, hasn’t she??

*This story is a real eye opener. Many of us are not exposed to this kind or rather any kind of abuse. Jazakallah for touching on a subject that is sheltered in the muslim community. May اللَّهُ help all those who are going through any form of abuse. آمِيْن

*Life is about challenges and growth and overcoming these with a new found sense of self and I hope that Mumtaz story highlights this :)

*I was just thinking about your blog earlier and realized how sheltered we live our lives… May Allah accept your efforts for creating this awareness. The least we can do is make dua for the abusers and victims

*it’s gripping and has us in tears whilst bringing to us the reality of what is happening on our society
To all those suffering out there, may ALLAH make it easy for all of u and grant u a way out of ur suffering

*What sheltered lives we live! How ungrateful and petty are we?! Thank you for opening our(my) eyes to some of what goes on out there,I won’t lie at times it was extremely difficult to continue on reading as your writing is so descriptive yet so gripping, Alhamdulillah for being able to be grateful,may Allah make us a means to help ease the suffering of people like this,people who feel alone and forgotten! Aameen

*From all thats happening around us and from the inspiration mandela was i think we should all say a heartfelt prayer as well as try our best to change try to be a helping hand seek out people who need care and just a shoulder and most of all let us all stop the judging please oh Allah hear their cries relieve them make it easy and grant the oppresors hidayat and a way to chAnge too -the oppressors sometimes comes from abused backgrounds too let us try to help them aswell -not condoning ther behaviour ofcourse

*After reading ths, I cried my heart out αη∂ finally found d courage to tell Ʊ……. It felt like I ws reading my own story on ths chapter….

*a heartfelt Duaa for all those going thru any kind of abuse wether phsically or emotionally…may الله ease ur pain n suffering n remove it …rememeber the help of الله is always near…dont ever give up hope on that …for those of us that arent going thru it اَلْحَمْدُ لِلّه n may we be a means of support for all those victims that are no matter wat race colour or creed they may be…

*For many years I was an introvert, insecure and couldnt make friends. I think I got married just because it was a ‘good’ proposal and expected of me. With hindsight, I could have dealt with a difficult MIL differently, but I was young, and didnt have the courage to seek the right guidance. When my 3rd child was a lil girl, all my memories of being raped by the neighbours son came rushing back. I was determined not to let my LG go through what I did.
Alhamdulillah Allah gave me a wonderful and supportive husband, and with his help, I went for counciling. I helped my LG grow into such a strong, self confident young woman, that she sometimes scares me with her courage.
I wish I hadnt lived so many years in a shell, I didnt forsee getting help from people I least expected to understand me.
To all you survivors, it is Never too late to face your fears and seek help. You never know who your saviour will be untill you reach out.

*BISMILLAHIR RAHMAANIR RAHEEM. SISTER YOUR WRITING IS REALITY AND FOR MOST MUSLIM WOMEN WE LEAD A LIFE SO SHELTERED THAT WHEN THESE THINGS ACTUALLY HAPPEN WE ARE SO ILL EQUIPPED. A MUSLIMAH LIVES A FAIRYTALE LIFE UNTIL SHES THROWN INTO A SITUATION THAT YANKS HER SANITY WHEN ABUSE SHOWS ITS UGLY FACE. MY SISTERS IN ISLAM EVEN THOUGH WE HAVE THE MOST BEAUTIFUL DEEN THE REALITY IS ALL THOSE WHO WILL ADVISE YOU GET OUT OF THIS ABUSE , HOW CAN YOU ALLOW A MAN TO BEAT YOU WHATS WRONG WITH YOU? ETC WHEN A VICTIM ACTUALLY RUNS OUT AND SAYS IM FREE ITS THE BEGINNING OF LONELINESS BCOZ NO ONE IS THERE FOR YOU NOW. ALL THE WORLD TURNS BLIND , DEAF, AND BELIEVE ME I SAY THIS FROM EXPERIENCE YOU ARE ALONE. I WRITE THIS FROM EXPERIENCE WHERE YOU BECOME AN EMBARASSMENT TO YOUR PARENTS, THEY CANT HANDLE IT, THEY CANT FACE THE PEOPLE! YOUR OWN SIBLINGS BECOME STRANGERS AS IF NOW U ARE A BURDEN , YOUR CHILDREN CANT HANDLE THE ISSUE BCOZ THEIR IN LAWS WOULD THINK LESS OF THEM . FRIENDS NEVER ANSWER YOUR CALLS BCOZ THEY SCARED YOU MIGHT ASK A FAVOUR …..I HAVE SURVIVED ABUSE AT THE HANDS OF AN EDUCATED MAN WHO IS SO ARROGANT , PROUD AND IN DESPERATE NEED OF HELP YET IS IN TOTAL DENIAL. WALLAHI HE HAS BEATEN ME , BROKEN ME , HUMILIATED ME, ABANDONED ME , DECIEVED ME, LIED ABOUT ME, SLANDERED ME AND DONE TO ME EVERYTHING IN AN ATTEMPT TO KILL MY BEING….. LIKE MUMTAZ ALLAH HAS A REASON FOR NOT LETTING DEATH OVERTAKE US AND THE FACT IS IF ALLAH PUT IT UPON YOU THEN HE WILL RESCUE YOU ALSO. HAVING INTERMITTENTLY READ YOUR BLOG I WISH I COULD WRITE MY STORY ALSO THIS IS A TRUE WISH AND TO PROVIDE STRENGTH TO OUR SISTERS IN DESPAIR……. READING THIS TO SOME OF YOU IS A STORY AND YET TO OTHERS OF US A REALITY THAT PAINS US TO THE VERY CORE OF OUR BEING.FOR ALL SURVIVORS THE ROAD TO PARADISE WOULD LOSE ITS VALUE IF LIFE WAS SMOOTH SAILING! ALLAH IS WITH US ALL.

*Assalamu alaykum, amazing blog sister may ALLAH reward u 4 ur efforts n give u the strength 2 carry on writing so we can c reality n help those who r in need 2 escape emotional n physical torture. I went thru something similar, but not as worse alhamdulillah, I had an evil drunken violent step dad who would beat my beloved mum evry single night over the smallest excuses n I had 2 witness this n alot of other bad things for 5 yrs of my teenage life going thru school n college,truly the worst part of my life, when reading this it brought back all the nightmares n I found it hard 2 carry on but at the same time wanted 2 c mumtaz break free, thruout the 5 years me n my mum would try 2 escape but my mum has a very soft heart n my step dad would cry n apologise n say he’ll change but he used to go back to being the same again after a few weeks, alhamdulillah me n my beloved mum managed 2 finally escape from my evil step dad after 5yrs after telling someone n we got help alhamdulillah, ALLAH gave him hidayat after 6months of us leaving n he stopped the drinking n violence,my mum went back 2 him as he had completely changed n it’s been 6yrs they’ve been together n he’s a completely different man n regrets his actions alot alhamdulillah,altho very few change when they say they will. Alhamdulillah I got married so I didnt have 2 go back n remember those nightmares in the house we used 2 live in before. To all the readers out there these things r unfortunately real n we need 2 make dua 2 ALLAH 2 protect everyone who’s going thru this n make dua ALLAH gives hidayah 2 the abuser n always listen 2 someone when they need 2 talk, it can make a huge difference n insha ALLAH they can get the courage 2 break free!

*These are the things sisters should read to broaden their horizons and open their minds. They live in these shells, not knowing the ugliness of this world. I applaud you on writing this blog. You giving a voice for the unspoken. I have officially become a fan and I cannot wait to read more about the life of Mumtaz.

*To all those who’ve shared their thoughts on looking @ both sides of the coin by offerinf Forgiveness and Dua to the perpertrators… They too deserve a chance for Forgiveness and Change as it is a vicious cycle that needs to be broken.. From abused to abuser, they probably don’t know any better.. I learnt that by Forgiving my perpertrators I really set myself Free- and YES too to the fan who spoke on forgiving doesn’t mean condoning the action it means just letting the whole thing GO.. Let Allah judge. After all our Beloved Prophet (PBUH) endured so much and yet He could Forgive.. So too had our Madiba stood for: Forgiving means releasing yourself from Prison … For the abused: Well Done… You have come this far… You have survived.. Your journey had a Purpose.. To lead others to Allahs Divine Light.. Much Love Always… From a Survivor xx

*Thoroughly enjoying it. Portrays the sad reality of the world that we’re living in.

*Side note: don’t know if people have heard about the “blow the whistle” campaign. It’s an anticrime campaign to protect women and children in SA. They’re selling these cute whistle necklaces for R30 at Cross Trainer. Seems fitting to let people know about it on this blog. They also have a website if anyone wants to know more about it :)

 

If you have a message for all victims out there please share and let them know that someone cares! WE CARE!

And if you’re a victim who wishes his/her voice to be heard, even if you want to do it anonymously please do so… we will listen, we will not judge, we will pray for you, and if it is within our capabilities we will try to help you!

Stop judging! Start acting!

Catch you in the new year Readers! 😉

One thought on “From the mouths of SURVIVORS!

  1. I’ve read many a book similar to your blog, but what strikes me about this blog is that the main character is Muslim. So often we think and want to believe that this kind of thing won’t happen in Muslim homes, yet it does. Very interesting read

Leave a Reply

